Erath County, Texas

Erath County – History, Demography, Government and Others

Erath County, Texas

History of Erath County

Erath County (EE-rath) was separated in Bosque as well as Coryell counties on the 18th of 1856. It was named in honor of George B. Erath, one of the first surveyors of the region. The county’s center is located near Stephenville which is located 80 miles to the southwest to Dallas (at 32deg10 N, 98deg15’W). The county is comprised of 1,983 square miles. It can be divided in two separate regions.


In the time of the 2010 census there were 37,890 inhabitants with 14,569 households and 9003 families within the county. The racial composition for the entire county is 85.6 percent white, 1.2% Black or African American, 0.8% Native American, 0.7% Asian, 0.0003% Pacific Islander 10% of other races as well as 1.7 percentage of multiple races. 19.2 percent of the residents comprised Hispanic and the Latino or of other races.

The number of households was 14,569 of which 29.59 percent had children under 18 years old who resided with them. 49.03 percent comprised spouses that lived in the same household, 14.7 percent of households had women without a husband present, and 38.2 percent were not families. 27% of households were comprised of people. The average size of households of 2.47 while the median size of a family was 3.06.

22.29 percentage of the population was under 18 years of age. 19.40 percent from 18-24, 23.10% from 25 to 44, 22.60% from 45 to 64 as well as 12.60 percent who were 65 years old or old or older. The median age range was 30.5 years old. On 100 females,, there was 96.50 males.


Erath County Government

Erath County, Texas – Cities

  1. Dublin
  2. Stephenville (county seat)

Erath County, Texas – Unincorporated communities

  • Alexander
  • Bluff Dale
  • Bunyan
  • Chalk Mountain
  • Clairette
  • Edna Hill
  • Hannibal
  • Harbin
  • Huckabay
  • Lingleville
  • Morgan Mill
  • Mount Airy
  • Oak Dale
  • Purves
  • Selden
  • Three Way
  • Thurber

Adjacent Counties

Photos of Significant Location and Monuments

School Districts

  • Bluff Dale Independent School District
  • Dublin Independent School District
  • Huckabay Independent School District
  • Lingleville Independent School District
  • Morgan Mill Independent School District
  • Three Way Independent School District

Add Comment